International researchers explore European media management’s reaction to war in Ukraine

by:

Uncategorised

UPDATE: This event has now taken place – read about it here

UCLan’s Dr François Nel and Dr Kamila Rymajdo will travel to Poland this week to join a group of international researchers exploring how European media reacted to the war in Ukraine.

They will join scholars from Ukraine, Romania, Moldova, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Portugal and Finland in a series of workshops to consider the topic through the prism of media management and media economics.

The event, co-organised by the University of Warsaw and The European Media Management Association (EMMA), will ask:

  • How did media companies adapt their production, distribution, pricing, promotion, and branding in response to the war?
  • Did they modify their marketing activities?
  • Were these changes driven by institutional motivation or were they grassroots initiatives?
  • Were these modifications permanent and were there any notable differences or similarities between countries?

Dr Nel, Reader in Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship at UCLan, said: “I am honoured to be involved in this ground-breaking project to explore innovative solutions for media management when war strikes, as it has in Ukraine and in conflicts worldwide.

“I believe that new ways of thinking and doing are urgently needed, and I am confident that our collaboration with peers across Europe will lead to significant contributions in this critical area.”

Warsaw was chosen as the location for the event due to its experience of finding creative solutions to the challenges it faced when emerging from the ruins after World War II.

The Polish capital has also been the first stop of many Ukrainian citizens on the way to safe places outside the war zones, and its residents have welcomed hundreds of thousands of war refugees, providing them with medical assistance, legal aid and refuge.

Dr Rymajdo, who was born in Warsaw and who has written extensively about the Polish diaspora, said: “It is a privilege to return to the place of my birth to explore such an important topic with academic colleagues from across Europe. Collaboration is crucial if we are to find new ways of working during conflicts, and Warsaw’s history and current role in supporting refugees makes it an ideal place for these discussions.”

The event is part of EMMA’s Knowledge-Share Communities project, which aims to build thematic networks and experiment with new forms of knowledge exchange.

As well as traditional forms of knowledge-sharing, the organisation is experimenting with workshops, pitching sessions and community events dedicated to a specific theme.

The Knowledge-Share Communities takes place at the Faculty of Journalism, Information and Book Studies, Warsaw University, Poland, from November 16-17, 2023. The event’s public sessions are being live-streamed from 8-10am GMT (9-11am CET) on November 16, 8-9am GMT (9-10am CET) and 1.30-3pm GMT (2.30-4pm CET) on November 17.